The Nuances of My Nights

            A poet knows
The name of all places
And directions to none
- Not a Poet


I write because it hurts
And if I scream they will know my pain
I don’t want to scream
Don’t want to shatter the serene mirror
That holds together
All false reflections
The world holds dear
For the blame of it
Would lie on me
And I have enough confessions to pardon
In my soliloquy

I slept late yesterday
There was a tempest inside me
And my mind was anchored loose
I was swayed, buffeted
And at once painted still
As if my soul
Was the albatross
From the Rime of the Ancient Mariner
And I thought:
Every murder is a suicide in a way
Isn’t it?
To surrender the right of your life to someone else
Without a fight
There are many types of murders
Of trust, flesh and mind
Common massacres
Gruesome
One of a kind…
It’s getting dark

I should have had dinner
But the lights were too bright
And candles too dim
The plate felt soft
And the spoon too thin
Or was it me
Who felt brittle and blind
With so many dreams to dream
And so few days to do
(Now that was a lie
For I cherish my own incompetence
Like a child does it’s once favourite but now broken toy)

I am afraid I have found
The edge of my reason
And the world beyond (And would you believe it?)
Is a mirror…
It seems me and this mirror
We are obsessed with each other
In finding faults
In pointing out to one another
Our own shrinking horizons
Until one of us agrees
The threshold of our limitations

I slept late yesterday
(No, I already said that
Pardon, it’s the mirror reflecting my memories
God I am tired)

Good night

Author: TheHumanAnvil

I find poetry as a gentle reminder, a medium to relay and dwell upon all things considerate people find inconsiderate. Poetry as an art is akin to a lamp or a magnifying glass. It trails volumes of meaning behind obscure, vague words. I have been writing for a time now, and intend to do so for the time to come. And hopefully, hopefully, hope that one day, someday, a person stumbling across this veil of words, find it alluring enough to shift aside the curtain and peer, into the eyes of the naked truth which sways with the wind of reason. If you have any thoughts, it would be my pleasure to know them, if you don't then it would be a pleasure to not. Be my guest. This feast of words is for you.

One thought on “The Nuances of My Nights”

  1. These days, my heart swells with immense pride watching you take on a different style of poetry altogether and completely making it your own. To those who are familiar with your previous works already know that what a beautiful talented being you’re but My God, lately, the way you’ve been tearing your heart out in the open with honest and truthful vulnerability, and…just letting us peak into the depths of your raw emotions…with such grace and ease…
    As a loyal, faithful reader, I am at a loss for words as to what to admire more…the show of sheer courage that you’ve shown in the departure from being an almost stoic writer to a passionate but vulnerable poet or simply, the painful rejoice I feel in watching you become you.

    Like

Leave a comment